Did you know school authorities and police can question your child at school without you present? Your child can even request your presence, but that request will not stop the authorities from questioning your child and trying to have your child incriminate themselves.
Tell your child and every child you know- If principals, assistant principals, school police, or anyone else attempts to question them about any alleged criminal behavior; your child should immediately request their attorney be present. Then the questioning will cease and your child’s rights will be protected.
A child who breaks the law in Texas may enter a complex and frightening world of procedures, places and people called the juvenile justice system. In Texas the ages of juvenile justice jurisdiction are 10 through 16. This year, more than 130,000 Texas children picked up by law enforcement officers will enter the juvenile justice system.
Call the Law Office of Shannon W. Brown, PLLC to represent your child from the beginning. 281-372-6462
Frequently Asked Questions
How can I get my child released?
If your child is detained (Children are not arrested – they are detained), there is no right to bond in juvenile law cases in the State of Texas. Legally, your child becomes a temporary ward of the state and is not considered to be detained. If your child is initially detained, he or she does have a right to a 72-hour detainer hearing where we can fight to get your child out and put back into your custody.
For minor offenses, the state will usually allow your child to go home with you. Detention hearings are held every 10 days and, if all goes well, that hearing is when we can have your child put into your custody. For the most serious crimes, the court will not release your child. The determination of the court regarding releasing your child is decided on a case by case basis and as your attorney; we will let you know how things look based on your child’s specific case.